CLSS Undergraduate Fellows Program

Emory is an unusual university in that it has the advantage of being both an excellent liberal arts college and a tier-one research university. One of the missions of the Center is to take advantage of these strengths and promote the fruitful interaction of undergraduate education and scholarly research. Each year the Center hosts a small number of undergraduate fellows who are active participants in this university's vital research environment. The privileges of being a fellow include the following:

  • Participation in the Center's seminars and conferences,
  • the opportunity to meet with leading scholars from around the globe and talk to them about their research and careers,
  • the opportunity to participate in ongoing faculty research as a research assistant, and
  • independent study course credit.

Affiliated and visiting scholars are drawn from all social science fields, but also include scholars working in truly interdisciplinary fields. Thus, students will be exposed to a wide range of scholarly fields and approaches. Accepting a fellowship is a commitment to participate in all of these activities for the duration of a school year. Participation will entail approximately 8-10 hours per week.

Application and Admission

Admission to the Center’s fellowship program is highly selective. POLS 208 (or equivalent) is a prerequisite for applying to the fellowship, unless waived by the director. An overall and major GPA of at least 3.5 is required.  Application packets should include a transcript, a personal statement (maximum 2 single-spaced pages) describing the applicant’s research interests and career goals, and a faculty reference (note: you do not need a letter of recommendation – just a faculty who can serve as a reference for you).
Please note that students with experience working with archival materials or conducting interviews, proficiency in a foreign language or a computer programming language, or knowledge of advanced statistical modeling are especially encouraged to apply.

To be considered, application materials must be submitted to Amanda Hutson in the political science department’s main office, Tarbutton Hall Rm. 327 by no later than Friday, April 20, 2018 for the 2018-2019 academic year. Questions should be directed to CLSS Director, Prof. Jonathan Nash.

Current and Past Recipients

The Center for the Study of Law and Social Science has been selecting undergraduate fellowships annually since the 2009-2010 academic year. The following students have been past recipients of the fellowship:

Semester Name Faculty Mentor
2017-2018 Jamani Montague Jonathan Nash
John Priddy Michael Leo Owens
Seung-Yeon Kang Holli Semetko
Emanuel Castro Holli Semetko
Solana Liu Jeffrey Staton
Gabriela Korobkov

Alexander Volokh

Jasmine Trinh

Alexander Bolton

Reem Abdalla

Thomas Lancaster

Tommy Archibald

Joanna Shepherd Michael Kang

Jihyun Hwang

Holli Semetko

Sydney Chan

Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na'im

Alondra Chavez Cabriales

Holli Semetko

Matt Goldman

Holli Semetko

Michelle Lou

Micheal Giles Jennifer Gandhi

Gaoke Chen Zhanwei Yue
Julia Bittencourt Holli Semetko
Siqi Zheng Holli Semetko 
Brandon R. Wood Tom Clark
2016-2017 Bradyn Schiffman Danielle Jung
Margaret Avera Shlomo C. Pill
Christopher Ian Kim Holli Semetko
Samikshya Siwakoti  Holli Semetko
Elizabeth Loukenauth Holli Semetko
Marijose Martinez Holli Semetko
Emanuel Castro Holli Semetko
Cassandra Pereda Michael Rich
Jack Zhu Jia-Chen Fu


Aaron Girard Tom Clark
Ronny Choi Jane Sumner
Caiwei Huang Eri Saikawa
Elyse Lee Jonathan Nash
Stephen Jaber Thomas Lancaster
Jacob Potts Michael Kang
Adrian Zamora Holli Semetko
Cassandra Pereda Nancy Arrington
Kathryn Taylor Thomas Lancaster
Molly Zhu David Davis
Madeline Brown Alan Abramowitz
Brian Delgado Jeffrey Staton
Wrenica Archibald Holli Semetko
Yao Sun Holli Semetko
Devin Mashman Kay Levine
Crawford Schneider Adam Glynn
2014-2015 Orli Berman Eric Reinhardt
Nikhil Bontha Urska Veliknoja
Brian Delgado Jeffrey Staton
Hannah Finnie Tom Clark
Naveed Hada Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na'im
Julianna Joss Thomas Lancaster
Elyse Lee Jonathan Nash
Benjamin Perlmutter Greg Martin
2013-2014 Jeffrey Domozick Thomas Lancaster
Zhuqing (Alicia) Ju Tom Clark
Matthew D. Pesce Eric Reinhardt
2012-2013 Nicolette S. Kraska Tom Clark
Ainhoa M. Maiz Jeffrey Staton
Matthew D. Pesce Micheal Giles
2011-2012 Jacob Brown Michael Leo Owens
2010-2011 Zack Crawford Joanna M. Shepherd
Michael S.Kang
Elizabeth Jansky Jonathan Nash
Josh Kovler Alexander Volokh
2009-2010 Caitlin Ainsley Cliff Carrubba