Alumni News

Political Science Honors graduate John Priddy 19C was the 2019 recipeint of the Elliot Levitas Award. Named in honor of Elliot Levitas 52C, an Emory Rhodes scholar and current partner in Kilpatrick Townsend LLP, the award is given annually to the most outstanding graduating senior majoring in political science or international studies.

John will spend his first year as an Emory alumnus studying at the University of St Andrews as part of the prestigious Robert T. Jones Jr. Scholarship

PhD alumna Emily Hencken Ritter 10G is Associate Professor of Political Science at Vanderbilt University. Her research centers on the effects of international legal institutions on the strategic relationship between government repression and dissent activities, and her publications include the American Political Science Review, the Journal of Politics, the Journal of Peace Research, the Journal of Conflict Resolution, International Studies Quarterly, the Review of International Organizations, and the Journal of Theoretical Politics. 

Read all about Emily on her comic blog, The In-House Scientist.

PhD alumnus Elvin Ong awarded a scholarship from The Dan David Prize in the field of Defending Democracy.

The fifth annual Vincent and Elinor Ostrom Prize was awarded to PhD alumna Anna Gunderson for her paper “Why do States Privatize Their Prisons? The Unintended Consequences of Inmate Litigation.” 

The Ostrom Prize is awarded each year to the single best combined paper and presentation by a graduate student at the annual meetings of the Public Choice Society