Department News



Speaker Series: Foreign Imposed Regime Change and 
American Foreign Policy, January 16 - April 18
, 2019

In Spring 2019, Emory will host a speaker series on foreign-imposed regime change. America has frequently used force to overthrow other governments, as in Afghanistan in 2001 and Iraq in 2003. This topic remains policy critical, as Trump administration officials have discussed imposing regime change in countries such as North Korea, Iran, and Venezuela. Emory students and faculty are highly encouraged to attend all events. No tickets are required.





Emory University EITM Summer Institute, July 1-19, 2019

Funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), this program trains graduate students and junior faculty in EITM, a research strategy that integrates theoretical models and empirical research to improve and expand our understanding of politics. The institute will integrate developments and findings from throughout political science, including the substantive areas of American politics, comparative politics, international relations, and political economy. Applications for the program are due on Monday, February 4, 2019.


PBS NewsHour: Andra Gillespie provides analysis of Governor's races in Georgia and Florida

Capitol Dome

Doner Op-Ed: Kemp acting as secretary of state in his own election is a threat to voter confidence

Capitol Dome montagnes

Is a sharply-divided Supreme Court more ideological? Clark and Montagnes’ work provides some insights

Capitol Dome

Are there any constraints on today's Supreme Court? 
Clark's research discussed in 538

Chelsea Jackson

Chelsea Jackson, a Political Science and African American Studies double major, is Emory's 20th student to be selected for the prestigious Rhodes Scholarship, which provides for study at the University of Oxford in England.

profile picture of Dr. Alan Abramowitz

Alan Abramowitz's latest book, The Great Alignment: Race, Party Transformation, and the Rise of Donald Trump, reviewed in Salon.


harvey and merle at retirement celebration

Micheal W. Giles, Fuller E. Callaway Professor of Political Science, retired at the end of 2017-18 academic year. For the past 35 years, Professor Giles has taught at Emory and served on administrative committees for the College and University. He joined Emory in 1983 and served as department chair until stepping down at the end of his term in 1989. The department is grateful to Professor Giles for his many contributions to Emory, and wishes him much fulfillment in the years ahead